Media Contact

Drug assistance for state disaster areas

Drug assistance for state disaster areas

Due to the immense storm and flooding damage the state has suffered since April 28, 2017, Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield is helping members replace any prescription medications lost from home damage. Members must meet the eligibility requirements below to receive assistance for one refill per prescription at no cost (a maximum 30-day supply applies), or a refund for prescriptions that have been filled since April 28. The assistance applies to current prescription medications as well as any medications prescribed as a result of the storms.


Assistance is available to members in Arkansas whose pharmacy benefit plan is managed by Arkansas Blue Cross, including members of Arkansas Blue Cross, Health Advantage and BlueAdvantage Administrators of Arkansas* plans that include prescription drug coverage.

Eligible members must live in one of the following counties declared a disaster area: 

Baxter  Marion 
Benton  Mississippi 
Boone Monroe
Carroll Montgomery
Clay Newton
Cleburne Ouachita
Conway Perry
Craighead Prairie
Cross Pulaski
Drew Randolph
Faulkner Saline
Fulton Sharp
Greene Searcy
Independence Stone
Izard Washington
Jackson White
Lawrence Woodruff
Madison Yell

*Copayments/coinsurance may not be waived for self-funded group members.

Eligible members should work with their pharmacist or call the customer service number on the back of their member ID card to obtain assistance.

Members who have lost their member ID card or who have special needs for getting medications delivered to them should call 1-800-238-8379.


Copays and coinsurance for these affected members will be waived through May 29, 2017.